The Day My Life Changed Forever

October6a

It’s funny how I can’t remember something that happened a few weeks ago but I can remember  something from twelve years ago.  I guess trauma does that to a person. Let me tell you about the day my life changed forever. I was ten years old, fresh in the fifth grade. It was an ordinary morning, a little gloomy because it was raining the weekend  before. I remember it was a Monday, October 6, 2003. I was getting ready for school but I was running a little late ,as any child at the age of ten would because I love to sleep. My dad was preparing my igloo for school but my driver was already here. I had to leave my igloo at home but dad said not to worry because he would bring it to me later in the day. So off I was to school. It was a normal day. I won’t bore you with what I had for lunch and all, it was just a normal day.

Hold on, let me back up a little. Way before time and space we were just particles floating. Sorry not that far. In the Leveridge house like any other family we had a family car. We had an army green two door VW. It was old, really old. It was parked in the drive way for a really long time and some way some how Martin, my dad, managed to sell it. Which he did on the weekend before the Monday in the story. I thought when he sold the car he would roll up in a new car the next day. Or at least when the car store would be open which in my mind was Monday. Monday came and it was about to go and mommy and daddy, in his new car, were nowhere to be seen.  

I was so excited to see his new car so I stayed up and waited. I sat by the window looking out for the new car, I waited way into the night. Then a car I’ve never seen before pulled up. “Is this daddy?” It wasn’t. It was my aunt and my two uncles from my dads side. I was confused at this point. I went downstairs after I saw them come in but my grandma sent me back upstairs. “Why won’t she let me see my uncles and aunt?”  I sat upstairs still waiting on daddy’s new car,still nothing. Finally my mother came home. She stayed downstairs for a long time. I never peeped to see what they were doing, I was busy waiting on daddy’s new car.

The  car never came…

He never came…

october6M.L

My mom came upstairs, sat me down on the edge of the bed and said, “Daddy won’t be coming home tonight, he won’t be coming back. He died tonight.” She had such pain her eyes. On October 6, 2003 I lost my dad. I lost my favourite guy. He was taken from me by an impatient driver who hit him off of his bike. How fast were you going to kill him? Would you have slowed down before impact if you knew he had two kids and a wife? On October 6, 2003 my life changed forever.  I still remember the last time I saw him in the casket. He looked handsome in his beige and cream suit. 

October6

Thanks for stopping by #LeveridgedLives. 

R.I.P Martin Leveridge

5 comments

  1. Hi. I read your post and it made me very emotional. Took me back to when I lost a very close woman in my life. A loving caregiver she was. It’s not easy to losing a loved one. It never is, but I guess it’s just for us to continue their legacy and keep their memories alive in our hearts. My condolences to you and your family on this anniversary. May his soul indeed rest in peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My condolences Robyn, I feel your pain because I know what it is to lose your dad. October 19th will mark the 10th anniversary of my father’s passing, it wasn’t as tragic as yours but the pain is still the same. May their souls forever rest on peace.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I came across your blog the other day and i really enjoy it. Just decided to check if there was a new post how ironic Oct 12 will be 3 years since I lost my dad. I have been dreading the day and my life has never been the same since. My condolences to you I’m sure he would have been proud of you. Most days Ionly wished he was here to see the woman I’m becoming. Thanks for the post it really resonated with me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

