The Harsh Reality of Life, Being an Adult Sucks

DSC_3562

I’m upset. I’m upset because I’m allowing other people to control the happenings of life.  No I’m not enslaved typing to you from my dingy cell but something isn’t quite right.  I’m not sure what’s the lesson here, but there is always a lesson. I had plans for the summer, some personal development plans, but other people and their suggestions are interfering with my plans.  I’m mostly conflicted because their suggestion will help me but I can’t redo my blueprint to include them and quite honestly I really don’t want to do it.  I’m not sure if I’m being stubborn or standing with my opinion.  This is such a conflicted feeling. 

I’m old enough and stable enough to put my foot down and stick with my choice but on the other hand I don’t want to burn any bridges.  I wish you guys could help me with my decision.  Should I air my dirty laundry and actually tell you what the situation is?  Nah,  I’ll do a pro’s and cons table and battle it out.  That’s one gross thing about growing up, all these decisions.  I’m slowly realising that life is full of hard decisions.  Before all I worried about was writing my school notes with a blue or black pen.   Now I’m wondering which account should be long term savings or which investments I should be a part of to get the best return on my money.  This that I’m facing now is teaching me value.  Value of my time, the importance and the value of a dollar, how much is my time worth and how well I can juggle life.

No matter how grown you may think you are, there is always room to learn and improve.  Writing this now is showing me that maybe I should take on the opportunity that I didn’t want to before, because it is beneficial in the long run and I’ll be annoyed the whole 5 weeks but there are hopefully good lessons to come from it at the end of the day.  I’ll try my best to see the upside in the situation and take away the positives from it.  It’s up to us to face these seemingly annoying situations and turn them into things of our benefit.  These things build character, they strengthen our backbones.  “When I was a child, I spoke as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” 1 Corinthians 13:11 (KJV).  I hate being faced with reality but these hard decisions are apart of my reality and I need to understand how to cope with them.  Maybe you are just like me and your looking at life as free and happy and bright eyed and totally ignoring its truths. One day we have to wake up and deal, Peter Pan was right, growing up is a trick. 

DSC_3554 DSC_3560


Thank you for stopping by Leveridged Lives. I hope you face your challenges with a  straight and clear mind, it’s tough in the real world. See you next Wednesday 

Leave a Reply

