Thank you for one year of blogging

 DSC_4158 DSC_4168

If you are reading this then I’d like to say thank you.  If you’ve ever mentioned my blog in passing, thank you.  If you have ever shared, commented, liked or taken a second out of your day to visit this blog then I say thank you.  You guys are the force behind my blog, you make it special everyday.  We may be a small Leveridged Lives community but atleast we are a community.  Today marks 1 year in since my official first blog post and I can’t believe I’ve made it so far.  This process really proved to me that when you love something wholeheartedly you’ll put your all in it 100% of the way.  I don’t know where I’d be if I didn’t have blogging, it saved me.  The dedication I have for this blog has truly transcended into my day to day life. 

Each and everyone of you means the world to me.  My heart skips a beat whenever I see how far and wide Leveridged Lives has reached.  I can honestly say it has been viewed on every continent except Antarctica, for obvious reasons.  I love my old followers, my new followers and my regular ” Oooh I’m going to follow this blog. Crap I have to sign up to do it? I’ll just check back to see when she posts” followers.  You’ve seen the transformation of this blog from it’s pink themed days to it’s chic look now (because black = chic clearly).   You guys have made this experience a beautiful , rewarding and fabulous one for me. When I first started I thought my mom would have been my only reader and I am so proud to say my boyfriend, best friends and you guys have joined the party. Speaking of Mr. B, I want to thank you for believing in me and this blog we’ve worked so hard on, thank you for being my photographer, editor and harshest critic and also to my mom for her endless encouragement.

I’m so inlove with this blog, and you guys have made it worth it every single day.  I hope I’ve done you proud over the year, bringing you fashion, diy’s and some hard hitting life issues.  This is only the beginning and I hope you stay till the end.  Right now I wish could look each of you in the eyes and tell you how much you mean to me and if you ever see me feel free to let me know you’ve read a post or two.  Since it’s my blogging anniversary I wanted to let newcomers and regulars into the history of my blog by sharing 7 of my favourite blog posts.  

In no particular order here are …

7 of my favourite blog posts to date.


Speaking with Angels 

Status update : OFFLINE 

When was the last time you did something for the first time 

The emotion we hate talking about

Stay true to yourself 

D.I.Y make-up robe. It’s so easy

Are we there yet? 

Also in celebration of a  successful year of blogging I’ll be sharing a blog post to help anyone out there who would like to kick start their blog.  The Blog Creation Story, rather mine at least is the beginning of Leveridged Lives, how I thought about starting and what kept me going.    



The Blog Creation Story

 

 

Here is where inception begins. We ponder and sift through all the mediums and platforms specifically to find the one perfect for us. We do a quick Google search for an easy hosting website, yet always going for the first link. For me that link was wordpress. I knew extremely little about blogging or creating a blog, but wordpress worked out and is still working out for me. Deciding to blog can be a scary, ego testing and faith dwindling . The industry is filled with pioneers such as Manrepeller and WhoWhatWear that are doing big things in great places, and that quite frankly may make you feel like a little fish in a big pond. Which is true. Starting of you will be a little fish, moving around learning the ins and outs of handling a blog, surviving the low stats days. But eventually after working hard and surviving the massive internet ecosystem you may one day be the big fish.

This is one way blogging is ego testing.  You might be writing amazing, breathtaking post on life’s hardest issues that may really help someone and you might not as much recieve a view.  But a senior to the game puts up 1 post with 1 sentence and their winning international blogging awards.  If you’re heart’s not in the right place then these things will eat at you until they prove fatal to your blog.  If you truly love it then it won’t be that bad.  All you have to do is remember why you’re blogging in the first place… for the money and the fame. Sorry wrong thought, you blog because you genuinely love it, even if your only reader is your mom.  This is one of the big things that I hope you keep in mind if you’re a new blogger, keep your heart in the right place.  This will make the journey fun and exciting every step of the way.  You’ll be so happy that you’ve found this amazing way to spread your thoughts.

Blogging is faith testing because of the fear of doing well.  This fear comes at the beginning of any new adventure.  All you have to do is feel the fear and do it anyway.  I was happy nervous when I decided to start my blog.  I told Mr. B months before that I wanted to start blogging, and he supported me when it was a small idea.  I split the creative process into days so that I wouldn’t feel overwhelmed and quit prematurely.  I registered my blog address (for free, ideal price range for starting out) then I created my about me post which was in April, then I sat and chose a theme in June and put up my first blog post on June 13 2015 with pictures from my iphone from a girls night out. I felt the fear and did it anyway, over a period of time. After publishing for the first time I was hooked and stayed with it for an entire year.

When choosing a medium and creating a blog, you must first pick the medium that you are comfortable with, whether it be blogging or vlogging. Then mentally prepare for putting yourself out there on the internet and ensuring you’re doing it for the right reasons. Finally for this first section sort out the details, choosing  a name, design and appropriate layout that will embody your personality.



 DSC_4173 DSC_4175 DSC_4184

Blogging has become second nature to me and I’m still learning every step of the way.  I thank God that he allowed me to find it when I did.  It’s a beautiful outlet and I encourage you to find your outlet.  Remember there will be a new post up Wednesday at 7 a.m and Saturday at 7 a.m .  Don’t forget to like comment and share the fun with friends. 


Thank you for 1 entire year of blogging and making it exciting and worth it every step of the way. You are always welcomed here at Leveridged Lives, I hope I see you again! 

Photographs by F. Blake

6 comments

  1. Congrats to you on your one (1) anniversary and a big thank you also!! 🙂 “Blogging is faith testing because of the fear of doing well.” This line is like you took my hands, looked me in the eyes and said “Charmaine, you can do this” I am still a little scared and unsure but thanks to you, I WILL keep trying. All the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so happy you feel this way. The only one stopping you is you. I believe in your blog the way you believe in mine and I’ll soon return the praise on a great year on blogging . Thank you so much for sticking by me for my first year.

      Like

Leave a Reply

