New Year New Me… I Promise

Resolutions

wishes, hopes, aima.  Every year we bombard ourselves with ridiculous ideas of how we need to improve.  Some resolutions are necessary, while others are made to fit in.  Every year we feel this enormous pressure to do right by ourselves and society without putting the most important factor behind it.  What is the reason for the resolution?  Why do we make them?  It almost seems like resolutions are rites of passage.   If you don’t make any or at least five, then you can’t sit with us.  It’s even more obvious that resolutions are trends because people tend to put ridiculous outlandish things as their resolutions.  Travel to Bora Bora, where previously the only place they’ve ever gone was the town over, or learn a new language but they failed 8th grade Spanish. It seems to me that when it comes to making resolutions there’s less action and more fake. 

fashion-photography

I get it, the whole reasoning behind a resolution, you know, new year new me… I promise.  It’s a new leaf, a new beginning therefore the best time for a new start.  But the attitude we approach resolutions with is the same as – I’ll start exercising on Monday.  What happens when Monday rolls around and cardio is the last thing on your mind?  Then it’s a wait until next Monday or next week or maybe the next month, and the no action all talk cycle continues.  This also happens in the new year because we don’t have the real drive to make a move forward and really fix what we saw as broken.  It’s okay to not have resolutions , rather it’s okay not to have “world-class” resolutions.  But if you insist on having resolutions you must understand that January isn’t the only month and it’s okay if plans span a longer period.  I see resolutions as a trap, a setup for failure if  not resolved.  In most cases you’re heartbroken because  the resolutions weren’t realistic or they weren’t made for the right reasons.  Losing 30 pounds in 30 days is not good, not safe, not healthy. Want to get married this year when you’re currently single, not good, not safe, not practical.  Hello remember Charlotte and Trey??? 

fashion-blogger

It’s always marvelous when someone tries to improve and grow, my mantra is to be forever learning and evolving, keeping things stirring.  As I said before, I get the whole idea behind resolutions.  I however don’t consider my resolutions as resolutions, more as stepping stones for a better life.  They are things that are actually necessary or important to me.  They are also things I’ve been working on leading up to 2017, and will continue to work on if not resolved this year.  Setting them out this way removes the self loathing and pressure of falling behind if I miss one.  For even more fire under my ass I’d set deadlines, realistic deadlines to keep me on track whenever I’m working on me. My resolutions are based on my life, solely Robyn they aren’t any politically correct bullshit like stop swearing or read a book once a week. With that being said here are my 2017 resolutions. 

New year new me… I promise. 

Get healthier – I’ve been struggling with my health and I’ve decided to stop fucking around( I didn’t promise to stop swearing) it’s getting to the point where I’m mad at myself because I keep suffering the consequences.

Keep active – Notice I said keep not start. I’m already active, but I want to be as active as when I was in high school. I did sports my entire secondary level which kept me fit for the most part and I want to get back to that state.

Financially vigilant – I need to learn how to handle my money. I mean really get a grip on things. Find ways to bring more in and keep it in, track it and grow it. Take part in better financial investments. I want to feel comfortable with my finances.

Stay confident – Right now I’m pretty confident and I aim on staying that way. I want to keep this feeling and learn ways to combat self loathing. Last year I fell of my confidence big time and it was pretty obvious, but as of right now I’m back on and I intend on staying so.

Better blogging – There’s always room for improvement and I have so much more to learn. I want to be on a new level and I refuse to let opportunities pass because my blogging isn’t where it should be. I want elevate and develop.

Keep moving – I don’t plan on gathering any moss. I need to keep interesting, diverse and fluid. What’s the point of life if you’re not evolving . I love to learn and I want to keep learning, I want a hefty repertoire.

Get closer to God – I’m not where I should be and I want to work on that. I could be waaay better. I read at least a verse a day, pray every morning, pray through the good and bad, but I could be waaay better.  

style-blogger

I don’t see a new year as a new leaf really or a new book.  I see it as a continuation of the book of life.  Chapter 2017.  I interpret it as another chapter.  One I knew was coming, not something that sprung up on me like a never before seen in the director’s cut.  I am aware it’s coming so I prepare for it by making resolutions that can be carried over from one chapter to the next because the story is continuing.  It is something new but it’s not a complete surprise.  You can get a feel of the chapter from the title but you won’t know what’s on page 265 until you reach it. So the best thing to do is taking one day at a time and work on your story.  Chapter 2017 has 365 pages with each filled with a little serendipity.  It’s great to plan and prepare resolutions as long as it’s for the right reasons.  

 

Outfit

Top – Wet Seal || Jeans – Blue Note || Sandals – DIY  


Thank you so much for stopping by Leveridged Lives I hope to take charge with your 2017 resolutions. Or have you forgotten already. 

Photos by F. Blake

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

